Governor Barbour

Sept. 7, 2011


Mississippi citizens and interest groups will have the opportunity to speak to members of the Governor's Public Employees' Retirement System Study Commission, Chairman George Schloegel announced today. The opportunity for public comment will be from 2-5 p.m. Sept. 14 at the New State Capitol, Room 216.

"Hearing from employees and retirees is an important part of this process," Chairman Schloegel said.  "Any comments will help provide insight into the demands on the retirement system and assist in crafting a sustainable solution for the PERS structure."

Both individuals and interest groups will have an opportunity to speak publicly to the commission on Sept. 14.  Interested speakers or groups may e-mail [email protected] or call (601) 576-2037 by 4:30 p.m. Sept. 13 to reserve time. People who do not reserve time before Sept. 13 but come to the meeting on Sept. 14 will be placed at the end of the list. Space will be allocated on a first-come, first-serve basis, and written statements also will be accepted.  Public comments are limited to three minutes per person; written statements are suggested to be no more than five pages.

In August, Gov. Haley Barbour announced the creation of a commission to study Mississippi's state retirement system and recommend reforms to strengthen the plan. The commission is required to present its findings and recommendations to the Governor, Legislature and public on Nov. 15.

The commission is comprised of current and former public employees, businesses leaders and individuals with expertise in pension issues. Other members include: Will Flatt of Parkway Properties; former Supreme Court Justice Reuben Anderson; Harry Walker of Trustmark Bank; Seale Pylate of Phelps Dunbar; Bill Crawford, former legislator and current President of the Montgomery Institute; Bill Benson, Lee County Chancery Clerk and current chairman of the PERS Board of Trustees; and Kevin Upchurch, Department of Finance and Administration Director. Legislators who are non-voting members of the commission include: Sen. Hob Bryan, Sen. Dean Kirby, Rep. Preston Sullivan and Rep. Greg Snowden.

For more information regarding the Governor's PERS Study Commission, visit and click on the "PERS Study Commission" logo.