Governor Barbour

July 12, 2011


Gov. Haley Barbour announced today that 13 counties affected by historic flooding along the Mississippi and Yazoo rivers this spring are now eligible for all categories of public assistance reimbursement from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

"This declaration gets the much needed financial help to our local governments," Gov. Barbour said. "Now they can rebuild and recover what was lost in this devastating flooding event."

Public Assistance provides state and local governments and some private nonprofit agencies reimbursement grants of 75 percent of the eligible costs for the following: debris removal, emergency protective measures, repairs to roads and bridges, repair of public-owned buildings, water control facilities, public-utility systems, parks and recreational facilities.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo counties.

"We have been anticipating this assistance from FEMA and have already begun the process of working with local governments to prepare them for rebuilding their communities with the help of the Public Assistance Program," said Mississippi Emergency Management Agency Director Mike Womack.  "This type of coordinated preparation will ensure the areas hit hard by the floods can rebuild and repair quickly."