Monday, March 8, 2004


(Jackson, Miss.) – Governor Haley Barbour today announced his 31 appointees to the Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee, which will review and recommend all judicial appointments during his administration. The members of the Committee will include a chairman, Eddie Brunini, and ten attorneys from each of the state’s Supreme Court Districts.

District 1: Larry Douglas Wade, Greenville; Mary Libby Payne, Pearl; Rufus Gene Parker, Vicksburg; LaVerne Edney, Jackson; Crymes G. Pittman, Jackson; John G. Corlew, Jackson; Stephen L. Thomas, Jackson; Don Leland Kilgore, Philadelphia; Charles W. Wright, Meridian; Jim W. Snider, Jr., Jackson.

District 2: J. Shannon Clark, Waynesboro; Billie J. Graham, Laurel; Collette Oldmixon, Poplarville; John H. Ott, McComb; Deborah Ann McDonald, Natchez; Frank Douglas Montague, Jr., Hattiesburg; Harry R. Allen, Gulfport; Ronald R. Peresich, Biloxi; Raymond L. Brown, Pascagoula; Joe Harold Montgomery, Poplarville.

District 3: Ron Louis Taylor, Southaven; Grant M. Fox, Tupelo; Lenore L. Prather, Columbus; Guy W. Mitchell, Tupelo; Will O. Colom, Columbus; Robert G. Krohn, Corinth; Alec B. Gates, Sumner; J. Niles McNeel, Louisville; Karen O. Green, Grenada; Bob Q. Whitwell, Ashland.

“A fair and impartial judiciary is essential to the protection of the rights and freedoms of the citizens of our state,” Barbour said. “Only the most qualified, conscientious, dedicated and reputable people should be appointed to serve the public as judges. Whenever a vacancy occurs and it becomes my duty to appoint someone to the bench, everyone interested in the job would first be vetted by this committee.”

The committee will review all applications for judicial appointments and make recommendations in case of a vacancy in the Mississippi Supreme Court, Chancery and Circuit Courts, and the County Courts. Members of the Committee will serve a two-year term and any member can be eligible for reappointment. No member of the Committee can be eligible for an appointment to judicial office while serving on the Committee. An Executive Order establishing the Committee was issued January 13, 2004.


Press Releases
Executive Orders

State of the State
Other Speeches

Photo Gallery

Upcoming Events
Request the Governor
Request the First Lady

Constituent Services

State Agencies

Governor Haley Barbour
P.O. Box 139 Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601.359.3150 Fax: 601.359.3741