Wednesday, January 18, 2006


(Jackson, Miss.)—Governor Haley Barbour today announced the appointment of Roy Estess, of Carriere, to fill an unexpired term on the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL). Estess will replace Roy Klumb, who resigned on December 15, 2005; the term ends on May 7, 2008.

“I am grateful for Roy's willingness to serve the balance of this term on the governing body of Mississippi's institutions of higher learning,” Governor Barbour said. “He’s had a wonderful career and has particular expertise in the science and technology fields that hold such promise for our colleges and universities. I think he'll make an outstanding board member.”

Estess retired as director of NASA’s John C. Stennis Space Center in 2002, a position he held for 13 years. In total, he has worked in various engineering and management capacities for 42 years with the U.S. government, including as a propulsion test engineer working on the Apollo missions to the moon; head of the Applications Engineering Office; deputy of the Earth Resources Laboratory; and director of the Regional Applications Program. From 1980 through 1988, Estess was deputy director of Stennis Space Center. In 1992, he was temporarily assigned to NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C., as special assistant to two consecutive NASA administrators, and in 2001 was temporarily assigned as acting director of the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.

He graduated from Mississippi State University with a degree in aerospace engineering and has completed the advanced management program at Harvard Graduate Business School. A registered professional engineer in Mississippi, Estess is a member and past chairman of the advisory committee to the College of Engineering at Mississippi State University. He is the recipient of NASA’s Distinguished Exceptional Service, Presidential Distinguished Service, and Meritorious Senior Executive awards. Estess and his wife, Zann, have two children and two grandchildren.

The IHL, also known as the State College Board, governs public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.




Press Releases
Executive Orders

State of the State
Other Speeches

Photo Gallery

Upcoming Events
Request the Governor
Request the First Lady

Constituent Services

State Agencies

Governor Haley Barbour
P.O. Box 139 Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601.359.3150 Fax: 601.359.3741