CONTACT: Julia Bryan (601) 359-4517

Monday, September 26, 2005

Governor Barbour Announces Additional Counties To Receive Disaster Food Stamp Benefits USDA Approves Seven Additional Counties

(Jackson, MS) – Governor Haley Barbour announced today that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has approved disaster food stamp benefits for residents in seven additional counties that suffered losses due to Hurricane Katrina. The counties include: Clarke, Covington, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lawrence and Wayne.

“I am very pleased that our request was granted and people in these counties will now receive this critical benefit,” Governor Barbour said. “It is important that we continue to meet the needs of Mississippians affected by this storm.”

The Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS) is in the process of securing locations in these counties to take applications for disaster food stamps. Each county site will open for five (5) days. Exact locations and times of operations will be forthcoming.

Permanent or temporary residents who are not usually eligible for food stamp benefits may qualify for temporary assistance if their home or belongings were damaged or destroyed and they have disaster related expenses as a result of the hurricane. Eligibility is based on available income and resources less disaster related expenses. Current food stamp recipients are not eligible to apply for the disaster food stamp program.

Those applying for assistance should bring a driver’s license or picture ID and be able to provide the social security number and date of birth for other members of their household. Applicants need to apply in the county where they currently reside.



Press Releases
Executive Orders

State of the State
Other Speeches

Photo Gallery

Upcoming Events
Request the Governor
Request the First Lady

Constituent Services

State Agencies

Governor Haley Barbour
P.O. Box 139 Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601.359.3150 Fax: 601.359.3741